Nigerian lawmakers push for rotational presidency, six-year single terms for presidents, governors

A group of 35 lawmakers in Nigeria’s House of Representatives have initiated a push for substantial amendments to the 1999 Constitution.

The proposed changes aim to institutionalise the rotation of the Presidency among Nigeria’s six geopolitical zones and introduce a single six-year term for the presidents and governors.

Speaking on behalf of the group in Abuja, Ikenga Ugochinyere, who represents the Ideato South/Ideato North Federal Constituency in Imo State, emphasised the benefits of these changes.

“Reducing government spending and wastage, improving governance efficiency, and achieving national stability through a single six-year term for the president and governors will significantly cut costs,” Ugochinyere stated.

The lawmakers believe that these constitutional amendments will enhance political stability and governance efficiency.

They argue that rotating the Presidency among the six geopolitical zones aims to foster national unity and ensure equitable representation of all regions in the country’s highest office.

Additionally, the proposal for a single six-year term for presidents and governors is designed to minimise the financial and political burdens of frequent election cycles and transitions.

“This measure is expected to allow elected leaders to focus on long-term developmental projects without the distractions of re-election campaigns,” Ugochinyere explained.

He also mentioned that the proposal is currently under review within the legislative framework, and further updates on its progress and potential implications are anticipated.

Exit mobile version